Reading: Matched by Allie Condie

It has been 24 hours since I saw the girl in a green dress trapped in a bubble. Of course, one of the rule in reading is to never judge a book by its cover. Though I must say, it stood out against other books on the shelf, and I was ultimately intrigued.

In the span of 12 hours, I went through a mixture of “Wow this feels like Divergent,” “What? Was I that fickle at 17?,” “Awwwwww,” and “How unrealistic is this?” with the interlude of my disastrous cooking and occasional distractions of funny Youtube videos.

In any case, I had very high hope for the book. I loved Divergent, and the dystopian story reminded me greatly of it. Condie is a wonderful writer, and her descriptions of places and things allowed me to escape into the world of her imagination. I could imagine the difficult work of the workers at the factory, the green patch, and the peaceful nature backdrop of the hikes. For that, it was a great break from real life, and I felt as if I was on a great big adventure with Cassia.

Yet, the main downfall of the book was the pace of the characters. Perhaps if you have read it, you could tell me your thoughts in the comment. Some of us have fallen in love. Some have done the more painful aspect of falling out of love. These are feelings with phases of their own, and it seems as though Condie treated as a switch. Boom. Fall in love hard and willing to risk my life for that person in the matter of pages. 

I wished she focus more on the background story. The society. The impending doom. The history. The romance or infatuation eclipsed the rest of the world that she has beautifully constructed, and for that I wished there was more.

Stars? (I always feel very awkward giving stars. I am not an expert, and reading is such a personal process that stars cannot fully capture)

Recommend? Yes.

Favorite quote?

matched quote_chi le

6 comments

  1. I read Matched several years back, but I remember one thing–Condie built such an AMAZING world in it but she ruined it by focusing on the love story instead. If the book had had equal focus on the intriguing dystopian world it was set in, so many more people would’ve loved it. Awesome review!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I agree! I’m planning to read the next book in the series soon. So, hopefully more details of the dystopian world will emerge. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this series a few years back as well and ahh you are so right about falling in/out of love being treated as a “switch!” The world she created was indeed so incredibly beautiful, I think I loved it as much as you did and also wished that Condie would have focused on it more, rather than the romance. I also like that you didn’t feel the need to include a star rating! A story is a different experience for everyone 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Did you end up reading the rest of the series? I’m hoping she will focus more about the society later on. I love Goodreads, but the stars can be confusing. After reading the mix of positive and negative reviews, I usually still don’t know whether to pick up the book. Thank you very much for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I did end up reading the rest of the series! I can’t properly recall whether or not she focused more on the society vs. the romance in the other 2 books but I do remember that her writing style remained very true to HER (like in the first book!) and so good to read until the end 🙂 the characters are also placed in new settings for much of Crossed and her descriptions of the new settings is for sure as vibrant and in-depth as those of the main city from Matched!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for the insight! It sounds like a good read. I’ll patiently read the rest to find out 🙂 Have a lovely day! ♥️

        Like

Leave a Reply

