Matilda 5 Pounds Ticket

“The books transported her into new worlds and introduced her to amazing people who lived exciting lives. She went on olden-day sailing ships with Joseph Conrad. She went to Africa with Ernest Hemingway and to India with Rudyard Kipling. She traveled all over the world while sitting in her little room in an English village.” – Roald Dahl, Matilda

IMG_4917

Seeing a musical was definitely high on my list of to-do since London’s art scene is both rich and exuberant. Many of the West End plays are also shown on Broadway. However, with student and young people offers, a seat in the theater may not be as difficult to afford as one would think! Quite a few theaters offer the day tickets, which you would acquire on the actual day of the show for a cheaper price.

Around three weeks ago, I got a 5 pounds ticket at Cambridge Theater. It was a day ticket only for 16-25 years old, which you can only acquire on the day of the show. Since the box office only gave out 16 tickets starting at 10 AM, I was there bright and early at 9! Surprisingly, there were already three people ahead of me. The only unfortunate part about the process was the cold wait outside, which involved a lot of hopping on my part to keep myself warm. It was a Thursday morning, and the cue had 16 people by 10. It was all worth it in the end because Michelle and I got pretty good seats for only 5 pounds a piece….how can you beat that?

I happily spent the rest of my day in the nearby art museum for class and random coffee shops to write my essays for the medical school composite letter, which took way too many drafts.

IMG_4916

At around 7, the venue was already packed with people! Our seats were behind some railing, but it luckily did not block the view. As my first West End show, Matilda was just absolutely amazing. Despite the majority of the audience being children who were probably 10 years younger than me, the musical retold the story in such a playful manner; I really loved all of the set design and the choreography.  What struck me the most was the number of lines the actress who played Matilda had to remember….she performed perfectly at such a young age! When the night was over, we were both very pleased with the reward of our hour in the cold and the long walk after.

I would greatly recommend the show, especially if you qualify for the discount. A great way to experience West End shows on a budget! (If you know any other theater with cheap tickets, please let me know! I’d greatly appreciate any suggestion 🙂 )

Little updates: Sometimes, life events caught me off guard. It makes me want to neglect writing and reflecting, yet writing is my only safe refuge from reality. If you have been following my instagram, I recently visited Oxford and went to a few other shows! I also spent 30+ hours last week researching and writing my art history paper about Monet’s Agapanthus triptych, which is currently exhibited in the Royal Academy of Arts. This is rather a big deal because each of the three panels is owned by different museums in the United States. To see them united together matching Monet’s vision is a rare occurrence. The exhibition Painting the Modern Garden: Monet to Matisse is going on until April! Even though it’s not free, I think any art lover would thoroughly enjoy it; it was full of visitors when I went on a weekday 🙂

Au revoir! 

5 comments

  1. Lovely post.. It’s always nice to get out and do something different for a change!

    Like

    1. Yes, it was a lovely night! Thank you for reading 🙂

      Like

  2. If you are in London and willing to queue the morning of, Wicked release their front row seats for £27.50 each. So worth it and a fraction of the price of those in the second row.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow! I had no idea they were front row seats. Will definitely be added onto the bucket list 🙂 Thank you very much!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s not well advertised but details are on the official website. I would recommend queuing at about 7… That way you get a choice of seats. It is a wait but if you have a friend and can alternate coffee runs, time flies!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

