Coin-flipping.

“Whenever you’re called on to make up your mind, and you’re hampered by not having any, the best way to solve the dilemma, you’ll find, is simply by spinning a penny. No — not so that chance shall decide the affair while you’re passively standing there moping; but the moment the penny is up in the air, you suddenly know what you’re hoping for” – Piet Hein

A break from all the glamour and glitter as seen on Instagram.

It’s 11:56 PM. Thursday evening.

I just woke up from a nap that I did not deserve. I wish I found these ancient archaeology reading more interesting, but there are always so many names to keep track of. Don’t worry, I am starting on my essay already. 3 weeks before schedule..if only everything else in my life was going as smoothly.

I couldn’t sleep too well the past couple of days. How do people manage to count sheep? I tried; it was too boring to keep up. I ended up watching a 3-hour long documentary about Egyptian Golden Empire (semi-productive?) on Tuesday and a movie yesterday. The movie About Time was a pretty charming British romantic-comedy. The male lead, who has no prospect of a girlfriend, discovers his time-traveling ability and utilizes it to chase the girl of his dream.

With the sleepless nights, I figured that my problems were not going to disappear if I ran away from them. The conflicting thoughts are no longer parts of the external world, but they have found a place inside of me. Somehow every important decision is always accompanied by two choices. A part of me knows that there is a logical option and the other is the one that satisfies my gut feeling. Even as time goes on, I don’t see how the answer will one day just jump out at me. Perhaps there isn’t a right choice because they are both right. I just have to pick one, whichever one that is.

This is not to say that the past couple days haven’t been wonderful in other ways. I am beyond grateful for all the delicious food I have received, which are way more than I ever deserved. Words cannot express my gratitude. Thank you! They’ll last me forever. I went to the British Museum for a long time yesterday with an audio guide. It was awesome. I also saw my first British play at the National Theatre on Tuesday night. To sum it up, it was about a promising politician, his zealous attitude toward his Bill, and the eventual downfall. Tragic, really (as expected from the name of the play)…waste.

My one class today was the Art in London course, and I took the walk to the Courtauld Gallery rather than taking the bus. Art History is such a different experience when one can see the painting up close. Each brush stroke is defined and separated, but together they evoke political and social issues, particularly the Industrial Revolution for my class. On my way back home, I stopped by a bookstore and got a novel for a pound. Reading in a London park while sipping tea is probably my idea of a perfect afternoon. With all the eating, I promise I had my workout of the day. My roommate wanted to go to a Jazz workshop by the Dance society. I know nothing about jazz, especially for dance. On an impulse, I accompanied her. My only real dance experience was the one semester of ballet at Emory, which I loved and hopefully will do again next year (need to get the most out of my dancewear). I am not going to lie, the workshop was pretty difficult. Not really the choreography, but their spins were so different. As I twirled across the room, the world was spinning around. It was very fun though~ They have a beginner class for Jazz and also one for ballet. I may sign up for it…we shall see!

I also went on a walk yesterday with Michelle, who is also an Emory student studying at UCL. We planned to go to Shoreditch, but after many detours, we went past the London Bridge and found ourselves at the Borough market, where I tried yummy coconut pancakes and bought too many fruits. On our way, we got ridiculously inexpensive heels and shoes for 6 pounds a pair at Mark & Spencer. We also passed by Leadenhall Market, which was absolutely beautiful. I wouldn’t have been surprised if it were part of a Disney theme park. It seemed rather out-of-place in the middle of a financial district, but it was where Diagon Valley was filmed! We randomly walked into tea shops and small little stores. It reminded me of what it means to be a traveler. The destination was set, but it was the journey that counted.

In the end, when I was watching the sunset over the river Thames, in the back of my head I know I have to make a decision soon. I am not sure how soon…but soon.

With love, Chi.

 

Leave a Reply

